Dabangg Wins Apsara Award

It was Dabangg's night at the Apsara Awards on Tuesday, 11 Jan, 2011 as it scooped up the biggest honours including Best Film and Best Actor. Salman Khan looks set to dominate the awards season, taking home Best Actor for his role as maverick cop Chulbul Pandey. Dabangg won total 8 awards. Along with Lions club favourite film of the year.

Salman's brother Arbaaz Khan turned producer with Dabangg and struck gold at the box office as the film became 2010's top money spinner. First time director Abhinav Kashyap and debutante Sonakshi Sinha completed the film's list of firsts. Our sweet girl Sonakshi Sinha won Best Female Debut for her role as village belle Rajjo.

The chartbusting Munni Badnaam also took honours for Farah Khan: Best Choreography, and Mamta Sharma: Best Singer, shared with Sunidhi Chauhan for Sheila Ki Jawani. Pakistani singing star Rahat Fateh Ali Khan
won Best Male Singer for Tere Mast Mast Do Nain.

Vidya Balan and Anushka Sharma split the Best Actress Award between them - Vidya, for her role as rural femme fatale Krishna Verma in Ishqiya, and Anushka, for her role as go getting wedding planner Shruti in Band Baaja Baaraat. Band Baaja Baaraat also won Best Male Debut for Ranveer Singh and Best Debut Director for Maneesh Sharma.

Karan Johar took home the Best Director trophy for My Name Is Khan which stars Shah Rukh Khan as an Asperger's Syndrome patient who's life falls apart in post-9/11 America leaving him to prove that being Muslim doesn't automatically make him a terrorist.